Cloth Diapering the Frugal Way

1890483_667644889992003_2378146665262541920_o (1)If any of you know me outside of the blogosphere, you know that I am just a little crunchy (and getting more crunchy every day). However, I like saving money while I’m saving the planet. We are a one family income which means that the more trendy cloth diapers out there simply were not an option.

Even on Amazon.com the more inexpensive brands were still running at about $7.00 for a cover. Factor in the necessity for different sizes as baby grows (or the horror of having a big baby that didn’t fit the newborn sizes you bought) it adds up. Some of the covers were size adjustable, but they were still more than I was willing to pay!

My mom started talking about the diaper covers that she used to use when my sisters and I were babies. In all my searches of cloth diapering blogs I have never heard of them! They are called Gerber Waterproof Pants. They’re about $6.00 for a pack of four! They come in different sizes etc.

No, they are not fashionable, but they are functional! Not only do they work really well, but they fit under baby clothes a lot better than some of the other options out there!

After I bought those, I simply bought a ton of prefold diapers. You really are going to want a ton. Babies (especially breastfed newborns) go through a lot of diapers in one day-trust me on this. The prefolds take a little practice to master, but you can do that on a doll before baby gets here. Yes, babies squirm a lot more than a doll, but it will help you get the technique down before you’re dealing with a seriously miffed baby. My two month old STILL hates getting his diaper changed.

I don’t use safety pins like many people a generation ago used to use (that fear may be why people opt for the more expensive covers that hold the prefold in place). There is this cool little doodad called a Snappi that holds the diaper in place without the risk of a needle poke for either you or baby. Find them here:

If you would like tips on how to use prefolds this way, let me know!
Disclaimer: if you do follow the Amazon link and purchase through the link, I will receive a small commission.

Leave a comment